Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?

Was surfing around online for numbers in book publishing when I found this competition online. One had to write a 100 word story that will be published on the back of a receipt during the Big Bad Wolf sale. I thought, well, why the heck not, you know? It’s not that I have anything to lose.

The submitted story is on this link BUT it really was whittled down from this. I personally like my original better – the wolves had more personality but hey, it’s hard to squeeze in much personality in 100 words. 173 on the other hand 😉

Two Wolves, Two Bad Ideas

‘Hmm, I don’t know,’ said Wolf looking at his reflection in the mirror. ‘Honestly, I think the clothes make me look kinda fat. And my nose, extra long. Doesn’t do much for my ears either.’

Wolf’s best friend, Wolfie puts his long paw over Wolf’s, what a human would term shoulder. ‘Look Wolf, you’re not just going to be able to waltz in and charm Red Riding Hood into letting you eat her. You gotta come up with something.’

‘So cross-dressing is a better idea?’

‘You’re not cross-dressing you silly wolf. Don’t you get it? You’re the grandmother!’ Wolfie exclaimed in excitement.

Wolf fingered the price tag on the frock he was wearing. Seemed an awfully expensive investment when he could just hunt Red Riding Hood down.

‘Fine, I’ll buy it,’ Wolf said, albeit reluctantly. As he removed the frock he asked Wolfie, ‘So, what’s your plan with the three pigs?’

‘Oh that,’ said Wolfie airly. ‘I’m the Big Bad Wolf remember? Just planning on huffing and puffing and blowing the house down.’

Leave a Reply

