Doctor Who S5…so far, so meh

I think I’ve been delaying this post for awhile, giving me time to collect my thoughts and muddle through it, process it internally before spewing my guts onto my blog.

Especially since I feel guilty about it. But of course, me feeling guilty is nothing significant. It does not take much to feel guilty and aside from the usual human emotions, guilt is probably something I feel all the time.

What do I feel guilty about?

I feel guilty that I’m starting not enjoy this season of Doctor Who that much. Cut for spoilers and for um, people who do not care that much about Doctor Who.

HERE BE SPOILERS

Where do I begin? The season opener was ridiculously awesome for me. I can recount the number of scenes that I loved – the Doctor bullying little Amelia Pond to cook for him, and then finally settling for fish custard. I loved, loved Amelia/Amy Pond. I loved how spunky she was, I loved how she slammed the Doctor’s tie against the car and she had fantastic comic timing.

I loved how arrogant the Doctor was, I loved how the story unfolded and by the end of the episode, I was totally in love with Amy Pond, in love with the Doctor and was ridiculously excited for the rest of the season.

Um…and then the Beast Below happened.

Don’t get me wrong, but from the opening episode, with the little child being scared by those clown things – it already reminded me of those old horrible RL Stine inspired TV shows, and it was just so meh. Spacewhale? Torchwood. Sexy Queen Elizabeth? Fun premise but so hammily done. Amy suddenly lost the same spunk that made me adore her in the first episode and when she finally got the clue at the end – it reminded me of Rose. And despite having solved the problem at the end – I could not help but feel that Amy did not do much through out the episode.

And the Doctor – in the entire episode, he struck me as a bit daft. I really like Matt Smith, it always takes me a while to warm up to the Doctor, but somehow that episode, it felt like the connection the Doctor usually has with his companions, or heck, the people that he meets – is gone.

What I’ve always liked about the Doctor is his ability to blend in with any community he meets, the distrust that people have about him before they suddenly spill out their innermost secrets to him. Eleven, no fault of his own, is detached and though the story is making people tell him the issues pertaining to their problems, it feels detached and forced. When Liz tells the Doctor of her concerns, I didn’t buy it. I did not buy her worry, I did not buy her concern. Heck, I thought she was having too much fun playing Princess Leia as opposed to being Queen of an adrift Britain.

There are so many criticisms I had with the Beast Below, plot holes (Doctor Who and plot holes is part and parcel of the experience but this was too much), a stupid storyline that’s been rehashed a million times, but it’s the connection with the companion with the companion that I missed the most. He took her flying in space and then it felt like two separate people doing their own thing who just happened to be on the same ship.

In Victory of the Daleks, the opening part was absolutely amazing. I loved the tea serving Daleks, Daleks in camouflage and Daleks being very un-Dalek in general. I loved how angry the Doctor got, how irrational he became with the Daleks.

And then it deteriorated again from there. Amy was saying things, doing things but for all intents and purposes, if she was not there – it would not have made a difference. Where was the heart, the loneliness and how she ached when the Doctor left her for 14 years? When the Doctor got on board the Tardis to stop the Daleks, leaving her behind, if I were Amy, I’d be terrified I’d be left behind. He left her behind TWICE. Why was she so confident that he would return for her?

I did not mind the colourful Daleks, I wanted them for my collection and it was a shameless act of merchandising on the BBC’s part (which, hey, I don’t mind, I know this industry very well – I know it’s merchandising that propels the sales, not DVDs, not TV rights) but….spitfires in space? Like for real? I have to suspend A LOT of belief to accept that in 2 minutes, they could fit up spitfires with Dalek technology to rescue the Doctor.

And that to stop the bomb, all you have to do is belieeeeeeeeeeeeeeveeeeee.

Is it just me or is the new Doctor Who really childish? What I loved about Doctor Who before was that it was dark underneath it’s childlike exterior. Waters on Mars captured the feeling brilliantly, the Doctor faced with a terrible choice makes the wrong one. Here, he just does what the good guys do, it’s a no brainer.  The new Doctor Who reminds me a lot like the new Alice in Wonderland, which was awful, awful, awful. Alice in Wonderland, on the exterior, was dark and creepy but remove all the make up and Johnny Depp’s overacting, was really, a story that would have fitted Playhouse Disney channel. Heck, I remember the old Disney cartoons were scarier than Alice in Wonderland.

I like darkly sad and creepy children stories. Harry Potter was no fun for Harry. Harry went through hell, he lost so many people along the way as he overcame Voldermort. So why don’t I believe when the Doctor says the Daleks are his mortal enemies? Why don’t I believe when Amy helps the scientist find what makes him human (hello Rose 2!)?

Boo. I could be nitpicking. I’ll be giving it a chance. I did not see all the subtext till I watched Father’s Day Season 1. So, the subtext will come – I’ll have to be patient. Faith. Faith.

Leave a Reply

