Urgh. Wedding Prep.

I think it’s completely untrue when they say that Ramadhan gets easier as you grow older. I don’t think it gets easier. No, it gets much, much harder. I’m more tired than I was last year, a lot weaker and hungrier.

You know you’re not going to collapse since you’ve done it, oh, for the past nineteen years.

But I’m only twenty-something, I wonder how much harder it can get.

Keeping the faith, keeping the faith.

***

I am, once again, losing interest in my wedding prep. Do people go through this? I find so many blogs where girls practically dedicate their entire living being to their wedding – on the other hand, I find wedding planning a tedious process.

The process goes something like this. Finding something you like “Oooh! That’s nice! I want!” and then dealing with vendors: “Yes, the pelamin of your choice is only RM 15,000, isn’t it a bargain?” and then, of course, my all-time favourite part of dealing with vendors: “Can I have a quotation?” to which leads to the inevitable chase down a labyrinth of no-replies and calls after calls after calls where they say something vaguely like ‘Yah…I’ll come back to you. Tomorrow. I promise.’ To which they don’t. ‘

One crazy chick asked me to put a deposit down first BEFORE giving me a quotation.

Am I being passive aggressive for complaining here? Yes, probably. But honestly, I have no idea what these vendors are up to. I know my wedding is about nine months away – yes, it’s AGES away in comparison to your average Malaysian wedding, but there is a reason why we’re planning it way in advance.

IT’S BECAUSE I DON’T WANT TO PANIC AT THE LAST MOMENT. WHICH, IF YOU’VE READ THE COUNTLESS OF HORROR STORIES ON MALAYSIAN BLOGS FROM BADLY DONE DRESSES TO VENDORS NOT TURNING UP ON THE DAY ITSELF, SAYS SOMETHING.

And no. RM 15,000 is not okay for your hideous design.

So the shenanigans of our wedding vendors have left me unimpressed with the entire wedding industry in total. I am rather happy that you’re intended to only marry once – because wedding planning is far too stressful when you’re dealing with nitwits who can’t even do a proper quotation or reply to your emails without making all sorts of excuses and ending their emails with a ‘Sorry for the inconvenient’

I think the smiles on the bride’s wedding day is mostly attributed to ‘Thank God, this stupid thing is over.’ Tell you what, it’s easier to do a play in 3 months than to plan a wedding period. Of course, it would be easier if I only wanted a cookie cutter wedding which silly me, is not what I want.

Dang, if only I had RM 100,000 to spare (which is the only sum that most vendors are only interested to hear and work on) and all of this would not be a problem.

So, no. I am not enjoying the process. I am finding it tedious, irritating and am this close to eloping.

To all the other Malaysian brides out there, do yourself a favour. Either have very rich parents OR do it outside the country.

***

Okay, so I’m in a bad mood. I think it’s because my birthday is coming up. I hate to be a cliche and stereotypical but when it comes to birthdays, I’m like one of those moody people they show on TV series and write about in novels. The ones that sort of is a killjoy, or grumps away till late at night until their love interest sort of pops up with a cake and a single sparkly candle. And then they kiss. All is well. How sweet.

Anyway.

Birthdays are not fun. Why? Because somewhere along the way I’ve associated birthdays with a time to reflect on the things I’ve not done with my life. I know. What a joyous way of celebrating.

Plus, it makes me all melancholy. All my closest friends are not here – they’re spread in different parts of the world. They don’t forget – thankfully – but it makes me feel all the more lonely, it’s the time of the year where I remember that the people I care about very much are not here with me physically.

Ah, 30th August, be here and let’s get that day over and done with.

Having said that, you know what can make me very happy on that day? David Tennant. So. Mr. Tennant, if you’re listening, would you do the kind thing and pop over down to Malaysia and say hi to me? Not much to ask for. You can then pop over to Langkawi and stay at the lovely Datai or Tanjung Rhu. Very romantic.

With me of course.

Leave a Reply

