Deciding on a Wedding Theme…the wrong way

Despite our wedding being a good ONE YEAR AWAY (well, more than one year, more like a year and a little bit), I think the planner, producer, the paranoid in me has started to hyperventilate more and more.

In between my super busy moments as an entrepreneur *cough cough* and a wannabe novelist *hacks a lung out* and a full time miserable git, I have also taken on the role Bridezilla very well. Like very, very well.

It does not help that I read Snippet & Ink almost every day and Martha Stewart. And as Farah points out, I’m easily influenced. I had changed the “theme” of my wedding three times already, from maroon and white, to green and white to gee, I can’t remember. To the point that poor Eizwan rolls his eyes and lets a painful sigh out when I yank out a new Bridal magazine and tell him, “Yes, Eizwan, this is it. We are so doing Medieval Knights by the beach.”

I messaged my cousin (who is being tres, tres helpful with the wedding) to announce to her, post-India, I have decided on a Bollywood theme. To which she replied, “Sure! We’ll change everything! AFTER I KILL YOU FIRST.”

I said that it was awfully rude of her not to acknowledge the importance India has in my heart. After all, I never tire reminding everyone I meet, including complete strangers at the petrol station that I grew up there. Sort of like, “RM 50 for petrol please. And by the way, did you know I grew up in India?”

“No, NO HEART. You just came back from India. If it was Sweden, you’d be like all IKEA weddings.”

Hmm….IKEA weddings. Now there’s a thought.

9 comments on “Deciding on a Wedding Theme…the wrong way

  1. PJ says:

    my friend’s friend had a Starwars themed wedding.

    i think you should do a Dr Who themed wedding.
    ;-p

  2. Adlina says:

    Oh God! I wanted one very badly but I have been vetoed by every member of my family =( It was either Who or an 80s theme, neon colours, big hair and loopy earrings. Again, rejected.

  3. Nicole says:

    Doctor Who wedding (join the comm to view the locked entry):
    http://community.livejournal.com/crafty_tardis/213246.html
    Convince them again! 🙂

  4. Jean says:

    YEah…a Dr Who wedding theme….sounds like a plan. I wonder who will come in the get up that kylie minogue wore in the final episode of the previous season. HAHAHAHAH

  5. Adlina says:

    Nicole: I have tried. Eizwan thinks it’s sweet, the same way he says “That’s nice” when I go on and on about DW (Kidding Eizwan!)

    Jean: You must wear the French maid outfit! It’s the only time of the year you’d be able to justify wearing that to a wedding!

  6. Nicole says:

    :/ This site might be of interest:
    http://www.offbeatbride.com/

  7. KC says:

    I can see it now, the Lord of the Rings type wedding… Held at Mordor, solemnized by Saruman and all that with good ol’ Gollum going my precious… one ring to rule them all indeed.

    Anyways Ads… you up for a cup of coffee sometime this week?

    • Adlina says:

      Haaayllleee, no. It’s going to be Doctor Who. I don’t do LOTR. Eizwan can come as a hobbit, but everyone else will be a Daaaaalek

Leave a Reply

