Bollywood Film Festival continues…

For the past one week, the house has been, as Jan described it, like a Bollywood Film Festival. Every evening, after dinner, we’d pop in a Hindi movie DVD and watch a movie.

So far we have watched:

  • Dostana – a real turkey this one was
  • Kuch Kuch Hota Hai – total classic
  • Jab We Met – loved how sweet this one was
  • Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi – I really liked this one, super cute.
  • Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge -I really heart this one despite how hideously long this one is.
  • Mohabbatein – haven’t quite finished this one, it’s really awfully slow.

What’s left is:

  • Kal Ho Naa Ho
  • Billu
  • Khabi Khushi Khabi Gham
  • Slumdog Millionaire – although, technically not Bollywood.

Jan‘s a little annoyed because he bought Blu-Rays from the States (The Wrestler, Batman) and they’ve been ignored for a singing and dancing fest. My perspective in life has been ruined a little by these Bollywood movies, I half expect people to sing and dance and remain merry always. Even melodrama in Hollywood movies don’t do it for me anymore. I keep thinking Bollywood does it better.

Has it only been a week plus since my return from India? Malaysia does this to you, returning to a routine and in my case, a kind of bitterness that I wish I did not have. I missed the ME that I was in India, the optimism, the joie de vivre that I seem to lack here.

Although, Malaysia can’t be blamed for my bitterness – I noticed lately I have a habit of living retrospectively. Malaysia was better than India, India was better than England, England was better than Malaysia. Despite how difficult life had been in KL since I’ve graduated, I have had fantastic times and I need to remember that.

I still miss India sorely, I miss how mental the country is by nature and I miss so much how much zest for life the Indians had in general. But if anything, I can always keep India in my heart as I live here and keep having that joie de vivre, regardless where I am.

And if I ever were to forget, I do have 10 DVDs to remind me =)

Leave a Reply

