We Take Hindi Movies Very Seriously Here

What happened over breakfast this morning:

Over poached eggs and toast, I started humming the theme from Kuch Kuch Hota Hai. I’m feeling mighty pleased with myself, I had bought around ten DVDs, Hindi movie DVDs from India. I’ve seen most of the movies I bought, but this time, I have all my favourites in DVD format! So much better than those annoying Sendi Mutiara format that we get here in KL.

I went to bed that night thinking about Kajol and Shah Rukh Khan, and over breakfast the next morning that despite thinking KKHH is very good, it was lacking in ‘Ooomph’ like Kabhie Khushi Khabhi Gham had.

“I like Kuch Kuch, it’s definitely a classic,” I announced over breakfast. “But there’s just one bit that I think that Karan Johar that didn’t add that would have made the movie exceptional.”

All utensils were on the plate at this point. My dad eyed me suspiciously. “What?”

“Don’t you think that Shah Rukh Khan’s character should have been more angry at Kajol for leaving him? I think the reunion would have more oomph if that were the case.”

My dad’s eyes narrowed. “I don’t think you get it. Kajol was in love with SRK. Of course she had to leave him. Forever.”

“I get it, but don’t you think SRK should be a little angry at least? I mean, his wife died and his best friend wasn’t there for him!”

My dad pushed his plate aside and his voice rose as he spoke. “I don’t think you understand,” my dad snapped. “When it comes to love, it’s forever. Of course she has to leave, he’d better understand!”

As with the cliché, there was stunned silence all around as my dad stormed away from the breakfast table. Damn. Hindi movies. Teh Seriouz Biznez.

One comment on “We Take Hindi Movies Very Seriously Here

  1. KC says:

    Ooo… i do like KKHH and Kajol… definitely classics…

Leave a Reply

