Being a Good Person

There are days where I wake up and what drives me to work, to write more, to run faster and push myself harder is ambition. I have this great burning ambition that makes me feel that until I achieve whatever it is that I want to achieve, falling back is not good enough. That life is only good and better till I get what I want to get.

Today I heard a colleague of mine passing away. I did not know him very well, but I had worked with him quite closely on some occassions and he was very kind and friendly to me during our Away Day. He was a good person, a well-respected man and when news of his passing came around, the first words people usually say were, “What a loss. He was a good man.”

When you die, no one is going to remember your ambition, how much work you’ve done. The first thing they remember is if you’re a good person like my colleague was, and the personal loss they feel from losing a good friend.

It’s something I ought to remember as I go about life: that it’s not all about stepping on people or clambering up the mountain as high as possible. It’s about living a good and moral life, that life is about being kind and being generous. Because at the end of the day, as the cliche goes (there’s a reason why it’s a cliche), that is all that counts.

Leave a Reply

