Getting the Warm Fuzzies

First things first. I would like to proudly announce that I finished more than 50,000 words in a span of three weeks. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I am proud to announce that I won Nanowrimo 2008. Winning meaning, I finished 50k within November and in three weeks. THREE EFFIN’ WEEKS PEOPLE. Get that? I started November 7th.

nano_08_winner_large

Muahahahahaha.

***

“Hold me in your arms, don’t let me go, I want to stay this way forever. Closer each day…Home and Away”

Was at the Astro-NIDA opening ceremony today despite being a little reluctant to attend it at first. It IS held in KL and I am not that big a fan of getting to KL from where I live. But all in all, I was glad I did turn up. There were people I had not seen for over a year and since Coming Out the Closet, so it’s been great to catch up.

In a way, it’s also about coming a full circle. Last year, when I attended the NIDA course, I was at an all-time personal low. I was depressed and it took a lot out of me to drag my butt out of bed to go to the course but I think it was well worth it. It’s nice to see how far I’ve come. I may not agree with everything I’ve been taught at the course, but definitely, what I have to be grateful for is how hard I’ve pushed myself creatively since. It may not yet be the time where I can earn a living from my creativity, but I do believe that one day, David Tennant will act in something I write in!

You hear that DT? I’m going to write for you!!

Ahem. It’s a lucky thing that this blog gets so few hits and even fewer people in this world know and read this blog, since it allows me to post like, whatever. A bit like dancing like a fool in public and no one notices.

Anyway, it was not all sappy and sentimental. Two of my the previous tutors could not make it this year, but I did meet two new lovely tutors: Tahnee and Nick Bishop. Tahnee is super sweet, she helped film my short this year, an unexpected decision since it was originally turned down. I reserve the rights to feel all the warm fuzzies about it since I liked seeing my short filmed.

I did not manage to get to know Nick Bishop much though, but I found out he was an actor on Home and Away. Like really. Don’t believe me watch the clip below. He’s the one who scared the living pants off the other cast members for being alive.

I got a picture with him as well, a close up picture of a…celebrity of sorts. Not quite the Mr. Tennant that I’m in love with but hey, we all have to start somewhere. Who knows! Jesse Spencer (Robert Chase in House MD) and Kylie Minogue started on Neighbours. Dannii Minogue, Heath Ledger and Naomi Watts from H&A.

Home and Away reminds me of my second year in university where I’d be watching it before seminars in my cold living room. I’d be eating lunch, usually something disgusting like fish finger sandwiches with mayo and chilli sauce . I’d be dreading the bus ride, since I always ended up missing the bus for some reason despite my best attempts at reading the bus timetable. But definitely, I enjoyed the solitary moments of having the house to myself, having lunch with the telly on and relaxing. It always either Home and Away, Neighbours or Doctors.

But I did not tell Nick that I was a bigger fan of Neighbours.

***

As part of research for my brother’s project, I watched Bolt in 3D. Although originally I bitched about getting a headache from the glasses, it turned out just fine and even though the story is formulaic and a doggy tale (cat person here), I quite enjoyed it.

2008 had been one hell of a roller-coaster year, from financial crises to the economic crisis and in my own personal life. Hell, I’m even still recovering from the traumatizing Doctor Who season finale. Even movies tended to veer towards the depressing and morally vague (think The Dark Knight) and so watching Bolt had been ironically, quite refreshing. There is always a place in this world for Disney and their feel-good movies despite their mad marketing tendencies.

Getting the warm fuzzies is always good.

5 comments on “Getting the Warm Fuzzies

  1. Congrats on your NaNo WIN! It is quite an accomplishment…be proud, be ecstatic, get a good night’s sleep!

  2. acannell says:

    Also congrats on the NaNoWriMo completion. I know how hard it can be to get through that, I haven’t managed to yet… mostly because I haven’t tried, I tend to write more on a casual basis. But, it’d be nice to give it a shot to really get the motivation going.

    Doubt I would’ve been able to pull it off this month though… it’s finals season, there’s no time for writing “for fun” unfortunately. Anyway, congrats again!

  3. Adlina says:

    BE – Thank you! The sleep has been lovely as you might have suggested.

    Acannell – Thank you! It was hard, I think much harder than I thought it would be, having to put my social life aside but I’m glad I did it =)

  4. YkK says:

    Neighbours?!!?!?!?!?!

  5. Adlina says:

    YKK- I like Neighbours! It’s funny…in a way that maybe shouldn’t be that funny.

Leave a Reply

