Turning Ancient

A few days ago, I turned 25. Which is kinda well, not awesome. And awesome at the same time. Awesome because I am grateful that I’ve lived this long and I’m relatively healthy.

Depressed because gosh, I’m old. Ancient really. Okay, I know those of you over 25 are like WTF?! You’re effin’ 25 (it’s Ramadhan…I’m trying to cut down on the cussing. Tough as that might be) and you’re super young. But I was greeted with phone calls and messages like, “Gosh, you’re old!” to  “You know, Adlina, when you’re 25, you usually reminded of your mortality.”

Uh-huh. With friends like these, who needs enemies. Anemones. =)

Having said all that, thank you so much for all the wishes. It was wonderful hearing from all of you, from different parts of the world, and I do feel teh specialz as they say. Yes, I’m looking forward to the future, and I say, the future is going to be LOLarious.

Actually, what I really feel about the future is reflected in this song (oh God! song blog!). I’m kinda glad that deep down within, I still have the emo angst of a teenager cutting themselves from all the Pain! Suffering! You Don’t Understand Me!

And I know that Alphaville sang the original, but I like the emo and sappy take of Youth Group.

Lyrics reflect that I have the emotional maturity of a 15 year old. So don’t mind me if I start littering the lyrics all over my blog.

Come to think of it, I’m kinda sorry that I was not a teenager in the noughties. I did not even really have Nirvana when I was growing up, missed it slightly due to my age, but the emo culture, is just too deliciously perfect for the angsting teenager. Songs about cutting yourself, a tradition of wearing black eyeliner and scarves even though it’s 35 degrees Celsius out there. What better way to reflect how much you’re suffering inside?

Happy Merdeka everyone!

Leave a Reply

