It was a dark and smarmy night…

Sometimes, in life, I make such weird decisions that I wholeheartedly support to the end. In some cases, I can actually switch my allegiance e.g. Hillary Clinton. At the end of the day, when she lost the nomination, I was completely crushed but I could switch my allegiance to Barack Obama. Not quite wholeheartedly…yet.

However, when David Archuleta lost American Idol (yes, I know, I actually watched American Idol…hey, I’m in Asia, it’s boring and any show is better than no show), I had to admit, I was crushed. So…isn’t appropriate that his first song is called “Crush”? It’s the most teeny-bopper song on the planet. Yet, I love it.

***

I met up with my friend Shahira a few days back after not actually meeting for her ages. My dear friend, dear as she might be, has a reputation for being super tardy, so even though she said let’s meet up for tea cum dinner at 5:30pm, she arrived at 6:30pm. This was despite knowing how late she was going to be and I aimed to arrive at 6pm.

So I sat down at the cafe for a good forty minutes with a cup of coffee trying to look…well, comfortable. You know how there are some people who could just sit down alone in a restaurant, having a meal, without having a care in the world? I’m not one of those people. Despite having the ipod, and my notebook out to write prose, I kept looking out the door as though hyenas were out to get me and I had to bolt out of Secret Recipe as fast as possible.

But Shahira arrived finally and we had a great time. Shahira is one of those super-hardworking people that I love to hang out with, so that their discipline would somehow rub off on me. She’s doing three exams back to back and she’s some sort of accounting wonder. Like really, I’m not being sarcastic. Anyway, I’m still hoping that wonder discipline would rub off.

I told her about what I was doing, the play, the novel and hopefully, fingers crossed here, another play next year.

“As producer?” she asked.

“Yeah, as producer.”

She shook her head in dismay. “You never learn, do you, Adlina?”

***

In honour of the Bulwer-Lytton contest:

I did not submit this, I did not even know the contest existed until recently when I was surfing around online. The point of the contest is to submit the most smarmy opening line to an imaginary novel. A quick one, in honour of the contest from me. Don’t mind my comma friendly attempt. It’s supposed to be one freaking line!

Romance/Science Fiction:

It’s been months, no, years since Roger left Annie yet every night, Annie imagined that it was his arms that was holding her, his fingers that were caressing her, his kind eyes gazing into her soul for really, that was the only way she could tolerate those grey creatures with those big black unblinking eyes staring at her, touching her with their spindly fingers and using pointy metal objects on parts she did not want to imagine since her abduction.

Leave a Reply

