8 Facts about “Coming Out of the Closet” – the play

At this point in time, that is about 36 hours to the premiere of “Coming Out of the Closet”, I am rather gratefully surprise, the word premiere and Coming Out of the Closet doesn’t quite cause convulsions. My legs do grow weak and my heart starts pounding and I feel faint, but other than all that, I am rather calm.

I could write now, wax lyrical about the journey, which I did previously but you know what? Waxing lyrical is for sissies! Well, that and whatever coffee my mum made this morning is so strong that I’m so hyper. Since Dan tagged me, I thought I’d do something a little different. I’m going to 8 Facts about Putting Up a Play in Malaysia. So there we go:

8 Facts Bout “Coming Out of the Closet”

1. The Damned Cabinet

One of the reasons why COOC is called, well, COOC is because two of our characters actually hide in a cabinet through out the play. The cabinet was our most difficult acquisition logistic wise. It’s bloody heavy and when Yazmin and I shopped for it in the middle of the night, the cabinet slid off the shopping trolley, knocked into an entire stack of tumblers which then flew across the room to remote corners of Jusco at 9:30pm on Wednesday night. And that was when we cheerfully told the Jusco staff that we parked our car in the New Wing.

I think their looks said it all: “Crazy bitches”

2. Radio killed the TV star? Or was it TV killed the radio star?

I had my first radio interview and TV interview for the show. While I was pretty calm and I did think I did a fantastic job, heheh, I said which made me want to thump my head on radio/tv:

– revealing a key plot twist on national television. Whilst I recovered, it didn’t stop me wanting to crawl into a hole and die.

– potentially insulting a foreign country. So, hey, I’ve already incited the gay community with my not quite gay play, why not a neighboring country?

– invoking the Official Secrets Act on live radio. Yes, Adlina. You should have the shouted “RAHSIAKAN RAHSIA-RAHSIA KERAJAAN” at that point if you wanted to emphasise that you cannot share government stories.

3. Being interviewed by the police

The things I do for my art. Even though it sounds more terrifying than it really is, part of the procedure for putting up a play in Malaysia is a police interview for a permit. He was a gentleman about it all but it did not stop me from shaking so hard during the interview.

4. Let there be light!

Or at the very least, ACE spotlights from ACE hardware. At one point, when our funding was at an all time low, Eizwan and I shopped around for garden spotlights at ACE hardware and imagined how we would be able to put up a show using garden spotlights.

I think the director nearly fainted when I suggested garden spotlights. Comeuppance for suggesting we needed 24 lights. I think my BP reached an all time high at that point.

Buuut, we have professional lights now!

5. Repellent is your best friend

Practice sessions were held in Bangsar by the poolside every evening and Sunday mornings. It sounds more romantic than it really is. That place was an infestation for mosquitoes and GIANT ones too. As Hani puts it, they used to NOM NOM NOM NOM on us. A habit I cultivated is to spray myself with repellent and where a blue mosquito patch when I arrived for practice. And smell like camping grounds.

And then run off to my uber posh gym who must think I have the stinkiest taste in perfume.

6. No luck is …. no luck!

I’m not at all superstitious. But for this play, I’m superstitious to the max, to the point that I do not use the word “good…” well, you know what. It’s break a leg. Or nothing at all.

7. My production team go by fruits

We all have fruit names. When contacting each other on the walkie talkie, we call each other by fruits: Lou is Mango, Jean is Pear, Noah is Starfruit, Sheila is pineapple, Yazmin is Cherry, Eizwan is Ichigo (Japanese for Strawberry). Alex wanted Honeydew but we took to calling him Melonboy. I am Kiwi.

8. It really is going to be a blast.

I just know it.

Leave a Reply

