Manic Day Out

At this current point, I feel like my tummy is about to explode from eating too much, I always eat too much when I meet up with Sheila, and my eyeballs are about to fall out from exhaustion. I think I’ve had about 6 hours of sleep each night for the past two weeks and I think one of these days, I’m going to completely fall asleep as I’m walking to my car.

So if you see me sprawled in car park somewhere, snoring blissfully, it’s due to my body finally caving in.

Today was certainly one of those incredible days. Despite sleeping at 3:30am staying up for elections results, I crawled out of bed at 8am to have breakfast and then headed over to Alex‘s place to work on our stage script.

Lunch time was spent with the lovely Kelvin, having banana leaf in Bangsar. Bangsar feels odd, a little subdued, perhaps still reeling from Shahrizat’s loss. Shahrizat and her old constituency, Lembah Pantai personified what the BN government was to Malaysia. We’ve had the relationship for ages but honestly, it wasn’t healthy anymore and it was time to break up. As with any relationship, you feel relieved, you look forward to the future but you can’t help but miss some of the good times and be a little sad.

Shahrizat’s posters were still pasted all over Bangsar, smiling and all smug, kissing babies and hugging old women to show that LOOK! I CARE! Their war room was next to Bangsar Village, abandoned and depressing with only Shahrizat’s smile adorning the room. The men and women who campaigned on her behalf must have been crushed, and I could only imagine how they felt as they packed up late last night.

As much as I detest the woman, seeing the fading posters strewn carelessly all over Bangsar couldn’t help but make me feel sorry for her and I wanted to stop my car and pack up the posters for her. I stepped into a new country today and there’s no place for the old guards anymore. It’s a new country and the mood is hopeful but cautious. But it’s all good because Malaysia has just entered a territory with sophisticated politics and that is something that we ought to be very proud of.

Again though, this is all coming from a very cynical ex-civil servant. The rest of the day continued to be manic. After lunch, I headed back to work on the script with Alex. Eizwan stopped over to help work and IT IS DONE!

Fantastic.

The rest of the evening was then spent catching up with Sheila who had just returned from Cambodia. The company and conversation as always, was fantastic and I would always, always overeat. Finally headed home at 10:44pm and here I am at 1am wide awake from all the coffee I’ve been drinking to sustain my manic hours.

But I’m going to sleep soon for tomorrow is a brand new day, and for the first time in a long time, I’m very much looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

