Tuesday January 1, 2008

Fic-let: Mini Stories

So it’s 2008. I’ve been thinking about this blog for the longest time now, since 2004 and wondering I ought to close it down. I started blogging on Xanga as a wee child of 19 as a means of updating my parents on what’s going on in my life in the UK. Now that I’ve returned to Malaysia and since I write to David (who is probably the only person who reads my blog) frequently about my life, the blog has become…a bit redundant really.

Thing is, I have many fond memories of this blog making it difficult for me to give it up. So instead of giving it up, I’ve decided to take the blog into a new direction. It’s going to be less about my private life because honestly, it really isn’t that interesting and the interesting bits, I’m not going to display it for the world to read.

What I am going to do is that at least once a week, I’ll be updating a mini-piece of fiction (300 words or less). They’re intended for a laugh, so this is my disclaimer to say: “No offense intended! And the stories are not based on any real life people, so don’t sue me. I’m already poor broke as it is!

As always, thanks to Eizwan for editing purposes.

Without further adieu, may I introduce my new series: Tanjong Ole.
***

Tanjong Ole: Durian Runtuh

The smell of durians permeated strongly through the air. Despite the local police force’s best efforts to keep the crowd away, a sizeable crowd had gathered to watch the carnage. The stench of death and rotting durians was palpable, yet the crowds stayed around, slack-jawed and fascinated.

Destruction was uncommon in a sleepy town like Tanjong Ole.

The carnage was an overturned lorry carrying a truckload of durians. Inspector Jamal made his way through the spiky fruits, careful not to trip and fall. His assistant Sergeant Izwan was already by the victim’s side, an unfortunate passerby who was at the wrong place at the wrong time. The sergeant held a handkerchief over his nose and mouth.

“What a waste,” he commented.

Inspector Jamal was unsure if he referred to the durians or to the young man crushed underneath the weight of the fruits.
Cultural notes:
Tanjong Ole is pronounce as Tun-jung Oh-lay
Durians are spiky, thorny and to a certain extent stinky (or fragrant depending on who you talk to) that Malaysians adore.
Durian runtuh – Malay saying for an unexpected good outcome.
Creative Commons License
Tanjong Ole Series by Adlina is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Malaysia License.

Posted 1/1/2008 at 10:2 PM

Leave a Reply

