Friday January 11, 2008

 

Jab We Met

jabwemet

Post K3G, there was really nothing in Indian cinema that attracted me anymore. It could be the phase of my life that I was going through, but from being an avid Hindi film fan, I suddenly couldn’t take most of the sentimental overdrive and cliches that is ridden in most Hindi movies.

But for some reason, I was compelled to pick up Jab We Met from Speedy Videos today. I think it was the premise that attracted me to the movie. Depressed rich boy meets bossy, talkative chick on the train (check, all cliches fulfilled) whom he can’t stand. However, after a mishap, both boy and girl ends up in a remote Indian station where by hook or by crook, they need to make their way to a small town in Punjab, where the girl lives.

Wait a minute? A romantic comedy, that is set solely in India without having to leave the country for random moments in Spain, England and Switzerland during a song and dance session? That I gotta watch.

And I’m so glad I did. The story was refreshing, it was witty and well-paced with excellent dialogue (despite probably not getting half of the essence from reading subtitles). The leads Kareena Kapoor and Shahid Kapoor had fantastic chemistry together and the song and dance was, surprisingly kept to a minimum, done rather effectively. Save for the overly complex twist in the last half-hour of the movie (it is a Hindi movie after all, it wouldn’t be a Hindi movie if it didn’t have a complex twist at the end), it had one of the sweetest endings I’ve seen in a romantic comedy.

And I’m not even a romantic comedy fan! All Hindi movie fans out there, go watch it! It’s a smart and modern Hindi movie that sadly did not get  as much acclaim  as Kuch Kuch Hota Hai did in Malaysia. Which is ashame because, dare I say it? Yes, I do. Because I think it’s even better than the Kuch Kuch Hota Hai.

Posted 1/11/2008 at 11:51 AM
Leave a Reply

