The Doctor Doesn’t Need Business Cards

Thursday October 18, 2007
With the discovery of the Stowaway, my little shippy heart has been beating very fast. I have a fervent hope that it is about Rose and that the Doctor will find Rose again. Coupled with the fact that it is a jaunty and cheerful tune, I’m left feeling uplifted despite a long journey back from JB.

After much thought, I finally decided that I liked Martha Jones. I had terrible reservations about her originally, mostly because I was so attached to Rose’s character. I loved Rose dearly, mostly because she came from a disadvantaged background and I loved how she rose to the challenge despite her circumstances.

I hope however, they would write Martha’s character better in the fourth season. For one, I’d like to see her be really intelligent. She’s a doctor, for goodness sakes! But if someone had written her an accountant, I really wouldn’t be able to tell the difference. She rarely had any doctor-ly moments and for someone travelling across time and space, you’d think she’d be a little interested in medical developments across the universe. I’m trained as an economist and my way of thinking is greatly influenced by my education. I see money in everything (poor Eizwan ) So, more Doctor Martha, more intelligent moments for Martha in Season 4, please!

Secondly, I’d love to see a smiling and sassy Martha. Martha sulked so much through out this as she nursed an unrequited love for the Doctor. I mean, take me. I’m hopelessly in love with the Doctor and Sam Tyler (poor Eizwan), certainly its unrequited  but that does not stop me from having fun.

***

I am looking to make two sets of business cards for my work. One would be focused on my entrepreneurial and business planning work that I do, and the other, a more creative and less defined one for the creative work that I take on. I find giving entrepreneurial development cards to people when they’re looking for freelance writers scare them.

Thing is, I’m a bit picky. Having googled for business cards, they range from uber-tacky to the uber-boring. What I want is something stylish, yet minimalist. Fashionable, memorable and zen-like. And oh, yes, being typically Malaysian, I’d like it for CHEAP. Which, I know, the final factor is a bit like lopping off your legs before you head of for a marathon. You can’t get fantastic things for cheap.

Meh, oh well. The search continues….

Posted 10/18/2007 at 11:18 AM
Leave a Reply

