Tuesday November 26, 2002

Haiya!!

My parents and my brother, Jan and my sister, Hani are going to INDIA. And I! And I!! I am STUCK here in Coventry. How bloody unfair is that?! I want to go to India. I miss India a lot. There’s just something so special about the country. The sensations you feel just when walking around Delhi is incredible. I mean, there’s so much flavour to the place. The sights, the sounds, the smells. Everything. It completely knocks you out. The best part about it is that everything is so colourful in Delhi that the rest of the world seems pretty lifeless after that.

I mean just walking around in the more “modern” part of Delhi: Modern Bazaar could give you an experience you wouldn’t get walking in Coventry. There’s the slightly cold crisp air due to Winter, along with the fogginess adding to the mystery. There are young students hanging out with their friends in their school uniform at McDonalds eating vegetarian burgers and eggless ice-cream. There are stalls which sells books that you’ve never seen before, some illegally printed, some so old, they must have been from the 1970s. A cow walks past by you on the dusty, sandy streets and you don’t even flinch, because, well, it’s just a cow. There are street kids running around and when they see a foreigner, they pester you for a bit of money.

Sarojini market? Getting a pair of trousers tailor made for 200 rupees. And they fit me perfectly. That’s less that RM 18 or about 6 pounds. And then the bargains you get there. Sure all the clothing you get there are hippy clothing, but that’s India for you. You fit right in. If you wear a nice suit, you’re out of place. You gotta wear those modern punjabi suit.

And then, there’s the food. My family will be eating at Bukhara. Now THAT is absolutely cruel. I hope that they’d be able to pack me some buttered chicken (mmm!!) and naan (ahhh!!) with chicken tikka and dal makhni and freeze it for me. Ooohhh, just thinking about it makes me hungry…the buttered chicken has the right amount of spices and just melts in your mouth. The naan, being the right amount of crispiness on the outside and warm soft bread on the inside….sigh…… 

Okay, missing India tremendously right now that I could feel a lump forming in my throat. I wish I was living there again Sniff, sniff.

I had a very stressful day today. I care not to describe about it. Currently chatting with Adzfar to get over my blues. Today was pretty bad. I was quite tense, my muscles ached from the tension I felt. Unfortunately, Pierce Brosnan wasn’t available to give me a massage. Damn.

I have a long day ahead of me tomorrow. I hope I would be able to get up early enough and survive another long day. I so look forward for the nights. At least then, I am finally at peace and I would not worry about tomorrow. Tomorrow will come. I will deal with it when it comes.

Posted 11/26/2002 at 8:52 PM

Leave a Reply

