Thursday November 7, 2002

Been in a major academic slump lately. I look at all the reading I have to do and urrgh, feel like throwing up. Even though certain quarters of the Malaysian population in Warwick (cough:: Johan ::cough:: Eizwan ::cough) think an Arts degree is easier, I bet you, it’s easier to get a 2:1 or 1st in a Science course compared to an Arts degree. Come on, all these science students base their arguments on how easy my course is on the sole fact that they have more lectures than we do.  As a friend put it: “I don’t have to be supervised on my work. I’m independent as it is”

Tonight was the ISOC charity dinner commemorating National Fast Day. I was really looking forward to it. One Aero bar (granted it was tiny) and an apple (never knew that eating apples can be so noisy, it was hard to be discreet!) during Econometrics was definitely not enough. Although, I was uncertain about the dinner being held in Rootes restaurant, I was quite happy with what I got: vegetable lasagne and jacket potato with loads of salad. The company was great too, I will include Shahira’s sarcastic and stressed comments. Thanks again to David for being such a good sport.

Currently I am facing two dilemmas (aside from the ‘I can’t be bothered to study’ dilemma): First dilemma. Which song should I put on the Krisvali play? “Aati Kya Khandala” or “Bole Chudiyan?”. Currently I like “Aati Kya Khandala” because  Amir Khan was so macho in that one and I like. But “Bole Chudiyan” was so sweet esp. Shah Rukh Khan. Hah! What am I saying? I might end up putting on “Koi Mil Gaya” because I wouldn’t have to choreograph a dance. Lol! We’ll see.

Second dilemma: Through out the entire day, I’ve been plagued by visions of apple pie. To be more specific: me baking an apple pie. The thing is, I don’t know how to bake an apple pie. But I have to say, Marianne, my housemate was most impressed with my ambition. She’s even offered to get the apples for me (they have an apple tree at home, so apples come free of charge). We had dreams of having a little tea party, inviting people over for tea with cakes and apple pie. I have to one of these days, to return the favour to all the Malaysians who have been so lovely by inviting me over to their house (and feeding me of course!)

Sigh, have to get back to my work. All these studying is getting in the way of my fun here in Warwick.

Leave a Reply

